The region east of Mount Olympos is known as Pitsilia and includes about 40 villages. Its tallest peaks are Madari (1612m) and Papoutsa (1554m). The picturesque villages nestle on the mountainside amid vineyards, or are hidden in valleys, maintaining much of their traditional charm. The surrounding hills and valleys are full of vines, almond, hazelnut, walnut and other fruit trees. The changing landscape, the variety of shapes and colours, the old churches and chapels and the warm hospitality of the local inhabitants make the Pitsilia region one of the most beautiful parts of Cyprus. The Pitsilia area is accessible either from Lemesos (Limassol), or from Lefkosia (Nicosia).
From Lemesos: Lemesos - Gerasa - Agios Theodoros - Agros road or Lemesos - Trimiklini - Pelendri - Agros road.
From Lefkosia: Lefkosia - Palaichori - Agros road or Lefkosia - Kakopetria - Karvounas - Kyperounta road.
In the village centre stands the small church of Agios Mamas built in 1455 and decorated with wall paintings signed by artist Philipos
To arrange a visit call tel: 99318832
Agros is in the heart of the Pitsilia region situated in a beautiful valley with a dry climate and cool springs. The village was given its name by forty monks who came to Cyprus from Asia Minor during the iconoclastic period and named it after the place they had left behind, 'Megas Agros'. A 9th century monastery built by monks from Constantinople once stood where the 19th century Byzantine style church of Panagia Eleousa stands today. Agros also has a museum of icons. The village is also known for its traditional products such as aromatic rosewater, 'hiromeri' (smoked ham), 'loukanika' (spicy smoked sausages) and 'lountza' (smoked fillet of pork).
48km from Lemesos (Limassol) via
The Church of Timios Stavros Stavros and Eclesiastical Museum
The church of Timios Stavros (Church of the Holy Cross) houses the ecclesi astical museum which contains icons and religious objects belonging to the village churches. It also has a garden with traditional plants and herbs.
Tel: 25532253, 25813204 for visits
As its name implies (‘palaio’ means old), this is a very old village. The village is mentioned in 13th century documents and it is believed the King of Cyprus Henry II gave it to the Knights Templars. Even today some of the surnames of the inhabitants have Latin roots. The 16th century church of Panagia Chrysopantanassa has marvelous wall paintings. Also worth a visit are the Liberation Struggle Museum in a house, which was once a hide-out for 1955-59 EOKA fighters, as well as the Monument to the Cypriot Mother which overlooks the region. The village is famous for its smoked ham and spicy sausages.
45km from Lefkosia (Nicosia) on the
The Church of the Transfiguration of the Saviour (Metamorfosis tou Sotiros)
A listed UNESCO World Heritage Site, the church is an early 16th century chapel on the hill overlooking the village. Its interior is completely painted with one of the most accomplished series of murals of the post-Byzantine period.
Byzantine Heritage Museum
The museum is housed in a restored building. It exhibits Byzantine artifacts and icons from the churches of Palaichori and nearby villages. The exhibits date from the 12th to the 17th centuries. They include silver and bronze work, wood-carving and textiles.
The Church of Stavros tou Agiasmati
About 3km outside the village of Platanistasa there is the renowned church of Stavros tou Agiasmati, a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site. It retains the most complete cycles of mural paintings of the second half of the 15th century.
15km from Agros, 30km off the Lefkosia - Astromeritis road,
The Church of Panagia tou Araka
The 12th century church of Panagia tou Araka is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site. It contains some of the finest frescoes of the late Comnenian style (1192) comparable to those prevailing throughout Greece, the Balkans and Russia. The church along with the churches of Asinou and of Agios Nikolaos tis Stegis, are considered to be the most important Byzantine period churches on the island. Visitors may ask the priest to open the church.
15km from Agros village or off the Kakopetria-Troodos-Limassol road (Karvounas junction)
A single-room stone building with a pitched roof, restored by the Department of Antiquities in 1955. The 19th century wooden olive press machine, as well as the stone olive mill and its millstones are well preserved. Tools for producing olive oil are displayed inside. Visitors may ask for the entrance key from the “Association of Expatriates and Friends of Spilia–Kourdali” building, next to the olive press.
The Church of Panagia Chrysokourdaliotissa
A three-aisled church with a steep pitched roof and flat roof tiles. It was built in the 16th century as the chapel of a monastery dedicated to the Virgin Mary and founded by deacon Ioannis Kourdalis, according to the foundation stone. The wall paintings are from the same period, with western influences. The icon-stand is a beautiful example of 16th and 17th century woodcarving, with icons from this period. Excellent examples of wood carving make up the old church pews, dating to the 16th century.
The Church of Timios Stavros (Church of the Holy Cross)
The village of Pelendri was once the property of Jean de Lusignan, son of the Lusignan King of Cyprus, Hugh IV. There are two interesting churches in the village. One is the 14th century church of Timios Stavros with superb wall paintings of the Paleologian and other periods. It is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site. The other is the church of Panagia Katholiki in the middle of the village, which dates to the early 16th century. It has paintings of the Italo-Byzantine style.
Off Trimiklini - Lemesos road - Tel: 25552369
General Cultural Events:
Apple festival: takes place in Amiantos, Dymes and Kyperounta villages every October. During the festival, visitors can look at exhibitions related to the production of the apple. Moreover, they can taste traditional apple products and enjoy traditional music and dances.
Rose festival:takes place in Agros every May.During the festival visitors can participate in the rose collection, see and buy different rose products and enjoy traditional music and dances.
takes place in Alona and Pelendri villages every November. During the event visitors can experience the distillation process of zivania, enjoy traditional music and dances and taste traditional products.