Smaller Default Larger

    Marathasa Valley

Marathasa ValleyMarathasa is a fertile valley, known for its cherry trees, situated on the northern slopes of the Troodos range. It is dotted with picturesque villages, such as Kalopanagiotis, Moutoullas and Pedoulas. It can be reached from the north along the Lefkosia-Evrychou- Troodos road and from the south along the Lemesos-Platres-Prodromos road.


Pedoulas Village

Pedoulas is a hill resort renowned for its cherries. In the village one can visit the Church of the Archangelos Michael, the Byzantine Museum and the Folk Art Museum.

The Church of the Archangel Michael and Byzantine Museum

The painted church of the Archangelos Michael is situated in the lowest part of the village. It is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site and dates to 1474. It has a pitched wooden roof typical of the Troodos churches. The wall paintings are in the local post-Byzantine style that developed prior to Venetian rule.

Pedoulas Village

Pedoulas Byzantine museum

Pedoulas Byzantine museum is located a few metres away from the church. It was established to house and preserve icons and artifacts dating from the 12th century. All the exhibits come from churches in the region.

Tel: 22953636

Folk Art Museum


The Folk Art Museum exhibits depict the way of life, customs, traditions and history of the Marathasa village com munities. On view are traditional rural objects, such as local dresses, wood-carved furniture and other household and agricultural objects.

Tel: 22952140, 99348751



Moutoullas Village

The Church of Panagia tou Moutoulla


The tiny 13th century chapel of Panagia tou Moutoulla has a steep-pitched wooden roof and frescoes dating to 1280. It is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site. The village of Moutoullas has an ongoing tradi tion for carved wooden basins.

The Church of Panagia tou Moutoulla

To arrange a visit: Tel: 22952341


The picturesque village of Kalopanagiotis is known for its healthy sulphur springs and for its church of Agios loannis Lampadistis.

The Church of Agios Ioannis Lambadistis and Byzantine Museum

Originally a monastery, today’s church of Agios Ioannis Lambadistis is a complex of three churches: Agios Irakleidios, Agios Ioannis Lambadistis and a Latin chapel – all under a single pitched roof. The church is a listed UNESCO World Heritage Site.

The church of Agios Irakleidios was built in the 11th century while its frescoes date to the 13th and 16th century. The templon is particularly interesting, covered with gargoyles, including a heraldic Lusignan lion and Byzantine eagle.

The church of Agios Ioannis Lambadistis was built in 1731. The saint’s tomb, which dates to the 12th century, can be found under the narrow northeastern arch and the saint’s skull lies in a niche. The icon of Lambadistis dates to 1543. The Latin Chapel contains the most complete series of Italo-Byzantine paintings in Cyprus.

69km from Lefkosia
Tel: 99476149

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tel: 22953636

Latest Events